Skip to content

What the new year will bring

December 21, 2009

Between work, the holidays, preparing for a new baby, and the exhaustion that comes with the last stages of pregnancy, I have not been even mildly prolific in my writing.  I do have a couple of things in the pipeline, but as of yet they have not been adequately committed to the digital word.

I will certainly return to writing regularly when my brain is once again capable of such things.  But in the meantime I will try to keep the event calendar updated.

I did find myself down on Magnificent Mile yesterday and decided to take the opportunity to visit the City Gallery in the Watertower.  On display for the moment is a series of photographs by Tim Long.  All photographs of buildings in the Philippines designed by Daniel Burnham (the mastermind behind “The Plan of Chicago”).  There was not a lot of information on his time in Manila, but I hope to do more research.  It is an interesting link.

The gallery is very small and may not warrant a visit just on its own, but don’t forget that the Loyola University Museum of Art is right behind it so a trip down to see both is certainly not wasted.  In addition to their regular displays they currently have Art and Faith of the Creche, which explores nativity scenes from around the world.

I hope everyone is enjoying the holiday season and I will return with more thoughtful entries as soon as possible!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kip permalink
    December 22, 2009 9:16 am

    I had no idea Daniel Burnham had even been to the Philippines much less had designed some buildings there. That’s pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

